An Ember in the Ashes Review

About: An Ember in the Ashes is a fiction novel written by Sabaa Tahir. This book was published in 2/9/2016 by Razorbill, 446 pages. The genres are fantasy, young adult, romance, and dystopia. It’s a series of 4 books: book 1 is called An Ember in the Ashes, book 2 is called A Torch Against the Night, and book 3 & 4 hasn’t been written yet. This book looks like it’s the author’s first novel.

line1

My Experience: I started reading An Ember in the Ashes on 9/27/16 and finished it on 10/2/16 at 2:30am. I could have read this book in two days if I had time because it’s definitely a book that I couldn’t put down. I am scared down to my bones reading this book. I almost think I couldn’t handle the evil in people. But the book in its entirety is too good to put down. The characters are great and the plot is excellent. The writing, I feel like I want to quote every sentence in this book. When it’s not evil, it’s a lesson taught, humor that force you to smile, and love that make you yearn for more. I like how the title of the book is a description of a person. I learn from this book that in order to survive and not lose ourselves, sometimes we ought to break the rules, just try not to get caught, and even if get caught, it’s still worth it.

My new book boyfriend, Elias Veturius (haha). He’s a wonderful person. Living the life he hates and being forced into this life against his will but he has to do them to survive. Even though he lived among the evils, I like that he’s not evil. I like following his thought processes. Sometimes they are funny in the presence of the Augur and sometimes they are things that we need to remind ourselves to be strong and not forget how to be in control of ourselves.

I stare at her, realize I’m staring, tell myself to stop staring, and then keep staring. p.127

I like Laia most times and sometimes not. I don’t like that she takes Mazen’s words so readily, even when the betrayal is obvious. Is her brother really at Kauf? I do like the mystery around her and she too is forced into this life against her will. Laia’s life is at one end and Elias’ life is at the other and they both want the same thing: freedom. I like that she takes control of her life and not let herself being rescued by Keenan. I like that she’s a good friend.

Helene surprises me. The twist in this book with what she can do. I’m glad that she’s another strong female character present in this book. I’m caught off guard at the things she does when it looks when she doesn’t want to. She’s a mystery to me. The wicked mom, OMG, I’m scared of her. I’m glad she reveal herself at the end because she’s almost a villain I may not want to get to know.

line1

Pro: page turner, couldn’t put down, cringe worthy, espionage, love triangles, action packed, no dull moments

Con: if you can’t handle evil, definitely not for the lighthearted readers, forgot to reveal how to block Augur from reading Commandant’s thoughts

I rate it 5 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: Book Depository

***Disclaimer: I borrowed this ebook from my library on Overdrive and my opinions are honest. I am also granted Sneak Peak access via NetGalley for this book; therefore, I would like to thank the author, publisher, and NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review.

xoxo,
Jasmine

38 thoughts on “An Ember in the Ashes Review

  1. Bookworm Ink says:

    I always seem to some how forget about this book when starting a new one!! I’ve put myself on a book buying ban so rather for Christmas or when I finish my current tbr I could go get it at the library but I for sure putting it higher on the to get pile ! Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    I’ve had this on my TBR for a while. It sounds so good. I had no idea it was scary. That makes me want to read it even more. I love books with a little creep factor to them. Nice review! 🙂 I love how you break down the pros and cons.

    Like

  3. Girl Who Reads says:

    I agree with every single word you have just written!!! I love how you described “when it’s not evil… etc” those words were literally perfect! I also read this book super quickly, and I finished it within 3 sittings, reading right into the early morning!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lia says:

    I got this book on my TBR and I can’t wait to read it! Especially after reading this review 🙂
    Also I joined NetGalley and already got accepted to some eARCs so thank you for recommending requesting ARCs to me!

    Liked by 1 person

Please share my reviews :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.