The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue #BookReview @veschwab @torbooks #yafantasy #bookworm #books

Synopsis from Macmillan Publishers:

Detailed blog post of my most amazing bookmail Here!

In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force.

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever—and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

About: The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is a young adult fantasy written by V. E. Schwab. It will be published on 10/6/2020 by Tor Books, an imprint of Macmillan Publishers, 448 pages. The genres are young adult, science fiction fantasy, historical fiction, and romance. These are the books I have read by this author: A Darker Shade of Magic, A Gathering of Shadows, A Conjuring of Light, and The Savage Song. According to the publisher’s website, “Tor Books is the most successful science fiction and fantasy publisher in the world. Winner of the Locus Award for best SF publisher 20 years in a row, Tor regularly puts books like Robert Jordan’s Knife of Dreams and Terry Goodkind’s Chainfire atop national bestseller lists.” Please see below for more information about the author and publisher.

My Experience: I started reading The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue on 9/9/2020 and finished it on 10/4/2020. This book was an excellent read! The first part about Addie was relatable. Her dreams of more than what she has in front of her reminded me of Lila from Shades of Magic. I can relate to wanting more time to experience and see more of the world like Addie. It’s amazing to experience so much history in that amount of time. It’s definitely true that it seems like we blink and then 20 years have passed by. The years in winter Paris sounds less glam than I thought. I love the meaning of life in this story and so I read it slowly and devour every word. The rules to men vs women in Paris of 1724 was fascinating to read.

“Blink, and you’re halfway through school, paralyzed by the idea that whatever you choose to do, it means choosing not to do a hundred other things.” p225

This book started in France, 1714 where Addie was running away from home without looking back. Then the story began, in current year, 2014 in NYC, told in the third person point of view following Adeline aka Addie, 23. She has been 23 for around 300 years. She had a one night stand with a guy named Toby but in the morning he didn’t remember anything about her or how they met. She said it’s been like that every time even though she had been getting to know Toby for weeks. Same thing happened when she went shopping and the sales clerk forget who she was as soon as she’s out of her sight. Then alternating back to before, in France starting in summer of 1698, when Adeline was 7 hanging out with her dad while he did woodworking. The story then jumped to Adeline at age 12 then later at 16 and on. She dreamed of places far away from the edge of her small village and even conjured up an ideal boyfriend. An old woman in town told her about praying to the old gods, but beware of the ones who answered after dark. She has been praying to keep herself free from the boys in town. Until one day when she’s 23 and time is running out and she has to turn to the gods after dark for help, but she didn’t expect THAT to happened. The second view was Henry, 29, NYC 2014. Henry was different from all of the other people. He gave Addie something she seeks. The story also went back to the past to give Henry’s background. This book was divided into 7 parts.

“Because happiness is brief, and history is lasting, and in the end, everyone wants to be remembered.” p351.

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue was very well written and thought provoking. Every chapter was an ache to wait because the story continued after the next chapter. These secret places in NYC amazes me. I wish I can go to one. There were pros and cons to Addie’s life. I liked that she can redo to make a better first impression. I also liked that she got to experience many things. The book exposed to me how Addie experience – she stayed active and often on the move. Reading Henry’s story with his family reminded me to be positive with mine and to be less critical and to offer more compliments. I like how Addie likes to explore new places even though she doesn’t have a companion. I’m nervous to go anywhere alone especially exploring a new place because I’m afraid to get lost. Not only that but I don’t go to the movie theater alone either. The ending was great and the mind games against the god after dark seems exhausting to me. I like how Addie figure out how to leave a mark of herself for others to remember her by. This story is unlike anything I have read and I highly recommend everyone to read it.

Pro: page turner, thought provoking, living life, love,

I rate it 5 stars!

Buy it here for free shipping: Book Depository or Macmillan’s website

About the Author:

VICTORIA “V.E.” SCHWAB is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than a dozen books, including the acclaimed Shades of Magic series, Villains series, This Savage Song, and Our Dark Duet. Her work has received critical acclaim, been featured in the New York Times, Entertainment Weekly, Washington Post and more, translated into more than a dozen languages, and has been optioned for television and film. When she’s not haunting Paris streets or trudging up English hillsides, she lives in Edinburgh, Scotland and is usually tucked in the corner of a coffee shop, dreaming up monsters. (Photo and info obtained from Macmillan’s website).

More Information About Tor Books

Website: https://us.macmillan.com/torforge | Twitter: www.twitter.com/torbooks | Facebook: www.facebook.com/torbooks | Instagram: www.instagram.com/torbooks

***Disclaimer: Many thanks to Tor Books for the opportunity to read and review. Your bookmail have surpassed all of my bookmails ever! Please be assured that my opinions are honest.

xoxo,

Jasmine

6 thoughts on “The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue #BookReview @veschwab @torbooks #yafantasy #bookworm #books

Please share my reviews :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.