The Story Web #BookReview #thestoryweb @bloomsburykids

Synopsis from Bloomsbury Publishing:

In this heartfelt, magical instant classic, Megan Frazer Blakemore shows how the truths we tell can change the world.

When Alice was little, she found a gigantic spider web deep in the forest. Her dad called it the Story Web and told her how its strands were woven from the stories that hold our world together.

Years later, Alice’s dad has gone away for reasons Alice is sure are her fault. Now she won’t even talk about her dad and definitely no longer believes his farfetched stories. But when animals in town start acting strangely, she can’t ignore them. The Story Web is in danger–and the fabric of our world is breaking. The only way to mend it is to tell honest tales from the heart, even if they are difficult to share.

In this magical tale of truth and honesty perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate, Megan Frazer Blakemore deftly weaves fantasy into the real world.

About: The Story Web is a middle grade fiction written by Megan Frazer Blakemore. It will be published on 6/4/2019 by Bloomsbury Children’s Books, an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing, paperback, 336 pages. The genres are middle grade, fiction, and social issues. This book is intended for readers ages 8 to 12 and grades 3 to 6. According to the publisher’s website, “Bloomsbury is a leading independent, global publishing house established in 1986 with offices in London, New York, Sydney, Oxford, and New Delhi. Bloomsbury Children’s Books publishes books for readers of all ages, including #1 New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses series.” Please see below for more information about the author and publisher.

My Experience: I started reading The Story Web on 5/25/2019 and finished it on 5/27/2019 at 12:40AM. This book is definitely a fantastic read! I love the 3 main characters as well as the views of the animals. Lewis’ clubhouse is cool and I like that he uses it for peace and quiet from his 4 sisters. I love the father-daughter relationship between Alice and her dad. I love Alice’s dad’s story weaving skills. I like the mystery of Melanie’s aunt. I like Melanie and how she doesn’t worry about what others think of her and her aunt. Hockey in this small town is a breath of fresh air instead of football in so many other books I have read.

This book is told in the third person point of view following Alice. When she was five, she found a big spider web in the woods, which her dad called it a Story Web and that each strand was a tale. Alice, 10 was close with her dad until he went away and she goes through life being invisible and doesn’t believe any of the stories her dad told were true. The second view is Lewis, 11. He’s a hockey player and miss his friendship with Alice. Alice and her dad play hockey as well but Alice has since quit hockey and quit being his friend during her invisibility days. The third view is Melanie. She lives with her aunt and likes to go up in the attic to think her big thoughts. As the rain subsided, she noticed all animals come out and head in the same direction. There are different views from different animals throughout the story.

The Story Web is very well written. I didn’t realized until past 50% of the book that I have chosen the best book to read for Memorial weekend because Alice’s dad served in Afghanistan. There’s a mystery to him “went away” but he’s not dead. A book about stories is interesting. I can’t compare if this book is any similar to Charlotte’s Web because I haven’t read it yet but the cover reminds me a bit of it. I love the ending and didn’t expect to cry but I did. Many supporting characters are well liked and my favorite is Donny because he brings humor into the story. Definitely a heartfelt read and I highly recommend everyone to read this book!

Pro: fast paced, page turner, story telling, father-daughter relationship, friendship, animals, humor

Con: none

I rate it 5 stars!

Buy it here for free shipping:  Book Depository or Bloomsbury Publishing’s website

About the Author:

Megan Frazer Blakemore is the author of The Firefly Code, The Friendship Riddle, The Spy Catchers of Maple Hill, and The Water Castle, which was listed as a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year, a Bank Street Best Book of the Year, and as a New York Public Library Best Book for Reading and Sharing. She is also the author of the young adult novel Secrets of Truth And Beauty which received a starred review in Publishers Weekly and was on the ALA Rainbow list. A former middle-school librarian, Megan lives in Maine with her family. http://www.meganfrazerblakemore.com (Photo obtained from the author’s website and info obtained from Bloomsbury Publishing’s website).

More Information about Bloomsbury Publishing

Website: https://www.bloomsbury.com | Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BloomsburyUSA | Twitter: https://twitter.com/BloomsburyPub| Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bloomsburypublishing/

***Disclaimer: Many thanks to Bloomsbury Publishing for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

5 thoughts on “The Story Web #BookReview #thestoryweb @bloomsburykids

  1. beereaderbooks says:

    What a good review I really like the premise of this book as it reminds me of Charlotte’s Web in a way and the story sounds something my kids would enjoy

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments makes me smile, please leave some! :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.