In Paris With You Review

Synopsis from St. Martin’s Press:

For fans of Eleanor & Park and Emergency Contact comes a sweeping romance about the love that got away.

Eugene and Tatiana could have fallen in love, if things had gone differently. If they had tried to really know each other, if it had just been them, and not the others. But that was years ago and time has found them far apart, leading separate lives.

Until they meet again in Paris.

What really happened back then? And now? Could they ever be together again after everything?

About: In Paris With You is a young adult poetry written by Clementine Beauvais. It will be published on 1/8/2019 by Wednesday Books, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press, paperback, 262 pages. The genres are young adult, contemporary, romance, poetry, and fiction. This book is intended for readers ages 14 to 18. According to the publisher’s website, Wednesday Books is “a crossover, coming-of-age imprint for the insatiable reader.” Please see below for more information about the author and publisher.

My Experience: I started reading In Paris With You on 10/16/2018 and finished it on 10/22/2018. This is my first ever fiction poetry read and I love it! This love story makes me smile right from the beginning and keep me smiling until the end. One night I got woken up at 2AM and decided to read this book for 30 minutes. I ended up reading it for more than 3 hours! Instead of helping me to sleep, this story only makes me want to turn the pages more and more. This book definitely proves why I enjoy reading about the beginning of love so much: the yearning, the daydreaming, the lost of sleep, etc. It’s so cute to follow both Tatiana and Eugene’s thinking processes. The page layout is a bit different, but as I got the hang of why it’s spaced out like that, I enjoy reading it a lot more. I like that both characters get to experience having the feelings of anticipation for one another and then having their heart torn to pieces.

This book is told in the third person point of view following Eugene and Tatiana. They knew each other from ten years ago where she was 14 and he was 17. Now they run into each other on the train, Tatiana going to the library and Eugene going to his grandfather’s funeral. They exchange contact info while they notice the changes in each other that they didn’t see from ten years ago. As Eugene witnesses Tatiana’s professor falling head over heels for Tatiana, Eugene notices himself getting irritated by the second. He then thought back to how they first met when he was 17 to explain why she’s not in his life today. This book is written in a poetry format with words that rhymes. Each chapter is long but it covers a whole time period, whether today or 10 years ago, so readers won’t get confused. The narrator sometimes talks to readers.

In Paris With You is very well written and a book to make you smile! I love reading this book so much! I’m not a poetry reader but this book definitely convert me! Each point of view is so honest and real that it can be easily relatable to readers. Tatiana’s expectation of love comparable to her favorite reads of Romeo & Juliet and Pride and Prejudice had me giggle to no end. I like Eugene’s careful protection of his heart and Lansky loving it all without putting up fences to protect himself. I like the lessons learned the characters experiences. I like how love can make adults act like teens. This book is a couldn’t put down kind of read and I recommend everyone to read it.

My First YouTube Review: In Paris With You

Pro: fast paced, page turner, romance, humor, Paris, witty, couldn’t put down, mini cliffhangers,

Con: none

I rate it 5 stars!

Buy it here for free shipping: Book Depository  or St. Martin’s Press

About the Author:

Clémentine Beauvais writes for both the UK and French market. Her books written in English include Sesame Seade series, the Royal Babysitters series, and her bestselling French book, The Three Piglettes. She is an award-winning author in France; In Paris with You (French title Songe a la Douceur) has been in the bestseller charts since it was published, selling 30,000 copies in the first three months, and reprinting three times in the first two. Clémentine lives and works in York, UK. http://www.clementinebeauvais.com (Photo obtained from the author’s website and info obtained from St. Martin’s Press’ website).

More Information about Wednesday Books

Website: http://wednesdaybooks.com | Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WednesdayBooks | Twitter: https://twitter.com/WednesdayBooks

***Disclaimer: I won a copy of In Paris With You from a Goodreads giveaway hosted by the publisher. Many thanks to St. Martin’s Press for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “In Paris With You Review

Your comments makes me smile, please leave some! :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.