Legend Review – Buddy Read with Icebreaker694

Synopsis from Edelweiss:

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.

About: Legend is a young adult fantasy written by Marie Lu. It was published on 11/29/11 by Speak, an imprint of Penguin Publishing Group, 352 pages. The genres are young adult, romance, fantasy, adventure, and science fiction. There are 3 books to the Legend series: book 1 is called Legend, book 2 is called Prodigy, and book 3 is called Champion. The author also published The Young Elites series: book 1 is called The Young Elites, book 2 is called The Rose Society, and book 3 is called The Midnight Star. I am also anticipating her newest book Warcross which will come out in Sept 2017. Please see below for more information about the author.

My Experience: I started reading Legend on 6/20/17 and finished it on 6/28/17. I’m so glad to have buddy read this book with B @ Icebreaker694. Please click on the link to read her thoughts. This book is amazing! I don’t know why I have waited this long to read it. Many times I find myself staying up late to read because I could not put it down. Our buddy read schedule was to read 25 pages per day but I find myself reading 50 pages at a time. I love the plotline and characters. I love the actions & adventures!

“Her sadness makes her impossibly beautiful, like snow blanketing a barren landscape.” p230

In this book, readers will follow the point of view of Day, the boy who failed the Trial test and live off the grid, notorious for his crimes spree and charity work in the slum sector and also a most wanted boy. Another point of view is June, the girl who passed the Trial test with a perfect score and is considered the country’s prodigy, rising to the top level in military at just 15 years old. Day grows up in the poor sector of Los Angeles. He has 1 older brother John and 1 younger brother Eden. He’s very clever and perceptive. He understands the system and the ugly side of the government because he has first hand experience when they told him that he failed the Trial test. June, on the other hand, grows up in the rich sector. Her older brother Metias is captain in the military. They lost their parents and Metias is June’s guardian. June is super smart. She’s not a rule follower but she believes the government will do what’s best for its citizens as promised. When June’s brother was killed and Day was believed to have murdered her brother, June vow to hunt him down to avenge her brother’s death. The adventures will give you adrenaline rush so much that you will only want to read on and on!

“Each day means a new twenty-four hours. Each day means everything’s possible again. You live in the moment, you die in the moment, you take it all one day at a time.” p304

This book is very well written. I love the story on the boy and the girl and the dual perspectives. This book takes place in the future of Los Angeles, California. The future doesn’t seem like such an ideal place to live. It’s overrun by government officials. The poor are so much poorer and the rich works for the government. They are both at the mercy of the government. I enjoyed reading about the characters a lot. The government sounds brutal and the future is not somewhere I would look forward to live but this book is a fantastic read nonetheless. I highly recommend everyone to read this book!

Pro: couldn’t put down, fast paced, page turner, adrenaline rush, actions & adventures, some romance, intelligent characters

Con: none

I rate it 5 stars!

Buy here for free shipping: Book Depository

About the Author:

New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu (www.marielu.org) graduated from the University of Southern California and jumped into the video game industry, working for Disney Interactive Studios as a Flash artist. Now a full-time writer, she spends her spare time reading, drawing, playing Assassin’s Creed, and getting stuck in traffic. She lives in Los Angeles, California, with one boyfriend, one Chihuahua mix, and two Pembroke Welsh corgis. (Photo obtained from Goodreads and Info obtained from Edelweiss).

***Disclaimer: I borrowed this book from my local public library and my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

21 thoughts on “Legend Review – Buddy Read with Icebreaker694

  1. Shouni says:

    I LOVE this trilogy! The pacing of Legend was perfect and I loved both Day and June. I’m so glad you liked it! This is probably my favorite Dystopian trilogy (and I’ve read a lot of those).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. raistlin0903 says:

    I always love a good post apocalyptic story. With so many books in that genre it is hard to find a truly original one, or at least one that tries do something different. The premise for this sounds pretty cool….so I’ve added it to mu good reads list again (since I’ve started following your blog that list has been growing at an alarming rate, but that is a good thing lol😂). Great review as always !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      This book won’t disappoint you. I have seen many high ratings for this book. It’s really a great read! You might want to bump this book up the list from your other books 🙂 I’m glad to find good books for you haha..

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sarah @betweenthepages says:

    YES YOU LIKED IT!! This is probably my favorite dystopian novel, and I feel like it doesn’t get the attention it deserves! I actually found out about it years ago by my older cousin (who doesn’t like to read) who said she loved it, so I was like: ON TO THE GRANDE TBR. Sorry quick story lol…She told me that my mom should read it first to make sure ‘it’s okay’ and I was like ummmm sure. Does anyone else here know about ALL THE ROMANCES I’ve read about in YA? Heck I’m like a fictional love expert by now. Nope I guess not lol. Besides the rest of my family hates reading *tear drop* so as long as I am they’re all like good for you you’re not watching tv I don’t really care what you read because reading is GOOD. hahahahaha that happened in like sixth grade. Bookworm memories 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      Wow hahaha.. That’s an awesome bookworm memory 🙂 and my family is the same. My mom will drive me to the library every week and don’t pay attention to what book I checked out as long as I spend more time on reading haha.. But a cousin who doesn’t read but loved a book then it’s a book that you MUST check it out haha I’m glad this book convert a nonreader into a reader 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

