On the Fence Review 

Synopsis from Edelweiss:

She’s a tomboy. He’s the boy next door…

Charlie Reynolds can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn’t know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at a chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world. To cope with the stress of her new reality, Charlie takes to spending nights chatting with her neighbor Braden through the fence between their yards. As she grows to depend on their nightly Fence Chats, she realizes she’s got a bigger problem than speeding tickets—she’s falling for Braden. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

About: On the Fence is a young adult fiction written by Kasie West. It was published on 7/1/14 by HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollins, 304 pages. The genres are young adult, fiction, contemporary, and romance. Please see below for more information about the author.

My Experience: I started reading On the Fence on 6/13/17 and finished it on 6/19/17. This book is a fantastic read! I love the humor and the family dynamic! I love Charlie’s three brothers and how protective they are of her. I love the easy going between the siblings. I like the different personalities of each characters and Gage is actually my favorite.

“Hey, guys. Don’t be idiots. This is Evan. Evan, the angry-looking one is Jerom, the constipated-looking one is Nathan, and the goofball on the right is Gage.” p198

In this book, readers will follow the point of view of Charlotte (Charlie) Reynolds, sixteen, the only girl in the family with 3 older brothers Jerom, Nathan, and Gage, and a police officer for a father. Their best friend is Braden Lewis, the neighbor next door. It’s no surprise that Charlie is a tomboy who likes sports. She plays football, soccer, and basketball with her brothers and Braden. She’s part of the guys, including getting speeding tickets. Her dad is fed up with paying her speeding tickets for her and challenged her to get a job. Working at a boutique requires her to wear feminine clothing and her wardrobe is anything but. Through this job, she learns to embrace the girly side of herself that was not part of her growing up, including wearing makeup and hanging out with girls who don’t play sports. Charlie feels broken due to a many reasons and often has trouble sleeping. She turns to the fence in her backyard for comfort. From there, her feelings begins to surface but she worries the feelings is one sided.

“By a show of hands, who here would’ve asked Charlie out in the last six months had they not been given the ‘We will kill you if you look at Charlie’ speech by the three lugs over there when she turned sixteen?” p201

I couldn’t put down this book! I like Charlie’s dad’s new co-worker Carol. That’s a very unique idea. I like the fence chat concept, although, I wonder how they survive on so little sleep. I like their tips on which guy or girls to not date. The humor is contagious in this book and I couldn’t help but laugh out loud. I like that Charlie is open minded and a team player because even though she doesn’t care for extreme girly displays on her clothes, she still wears the bedazzled jersey Amber made for her. I highly recommend you all to read this book!

Pro: humor, family dynamic, friendship, page turner, fast paced, easy to read

Con: none

I rate it 5 stars!

Buy here for free shipping: Book Depository

About the Author:

A stay-at-home mom of four children, three of them girls, Kasie West hears lots of melodramatic versions of large-than-life events. She graduated with a BA in liberal studies, with a strong focus on linguistics and psychology, from Fresno State University. She lives in Fresno, CA. Visit her online at http://www.kasiewest.com or follow her on Twitter @kasiewest. (Photo obtained on Goodreads and Info obtained from Edelweiss).

***Disclaimer: I borrowed this book from my local public library and my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

24 thoughts on “On the Fence Review 

  1. breenysbooks says:

    I always enjoy all of Kasie West’s books. They scream summer to me. I’m so glad you enjoyed reading it. Awesome review!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. raistlin0903 says:

    I don’t think this is a novel that I would really enjoy, even though the story for it sounds pretty heartwarming. But with my list of novels that I have yet to read already being way too big, I’m going to pass on this one at the moment. Great review though, as always 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Azia says:

    Oh this sounds like another cute YA contemporary I need to add to may summer TBR! Kasie West sounds like a fabulous author and the concept of a “fence chat” is pretty cool 🙂 I’ll have to try to read this one sometime this summer! Great review Jasmine!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

