ARC Giveaway – Lucky in Love

THIS GIVEAWAY IS OPEN TO *USA* ONLY 

(This book will be published on 7/25/17 by Point, imprint of Scholastic, 352 pages)

Synopsis from Edelweiss:

In this new contemporary from YA star Kasie West, a girl who wins the lottery learns that money can cause more problems than it solves, especially when love comes into the picture.
Maddie’s not impulsive. She’s all about hard work and planning ahead. But one night, on a whim, she buys a lottery ticket. And then, to her astonishment —

In a flash, Maddie’s life is unrecognizable. No more stressing about college scholarships. Suddenly, she’s talking about renting a yacht. And being in the spotlight at school is fun… until rumors start flying, and random people ask her for loans. Now, Maddie isn’t sure who she can trust.
Except for Seth Nguyen, her funny, charming co-worker at the local zoo. Seth doesn’t seem aware of Maddie’s big news. And, for some reason, she doesn’t want to tell him. But what will happen if he learns her secret?
With tons of humor and heart, Kasie West delivers a million-dollar tale of winning, losing, and falling in love.

RULES:
1) You MUST BE following my blog.
2) Optional to follow my Twitter. Link.
3) Optional to follow my Instagram. Link.
4) Optional to friend with me on Goodreads. Link.
5) Comment below your favorite snack.
Giveaway ends 6/21/17 at midnight central time. One winner will be chosen randomly.

(No follow to unfollow please, that is just ugly. It happened with my last giveaway and I’m annoyed).

Below is My Review. Full Review HERE.

My Experience: I started reading Lucky in Love on 5/25/17 and finished it on 5/30/17 at midnight. This book is an excellent read! I love to read books with characters who are flawed and then when given time or lessons, the characters overcome the flaws. This book is light hearted and easy to read. The romance is light and perfect for modest teen readers. The main character works part-time at the zoo; therefore, this book is an ideal read for readers who loves animals. I like how positive this book is and I think it will make a good impact on young adult readers. The main character can definitely be a role model.

A recipe on how to relax: “You need to empty your mind, and relax each muscle group until you feel like you are going to melt into the floor. Then you just let it all go. All the expectations, all the unneeded worry, all the things other people want for you but you don’t want for yourself.” p218

In this book, readers will follow the point of view of Madeleine or Maddie, a high school senior who has goals and total control of herself. She makes a friend pact with two of her best friends to stay focused in school and not let a boy get in the way. Her curfew is only use for study group with her friends. She believes success comes from hard work. She’s the glue that keeps her family together. She worries for her brother and parent’s happiness. Since her dad lost his job and her mom works two jobs to cover the bills, her family has been in a constant conflict. One night, an impulse decision changed her life. A distraction that could solve her family’s problems or could change her life for the worse.

“I shouldn’t have hugged him. He was warm and I fit perfectly against him, like he was made to hug just me forever.” p280

I love a perfect ending and this book has it. I have a big grin on my face at midnight last night and it was so hard to go to sleep after that. I enjoyed following Maddie’s train of thoughts. I like that she wants her brother to succeed and her parents to be happy. I like that she’s motivated to succeed through hard work. I love her spitting out random facts. I love Seth Nguyen and his humor. He has so much humor. I love his retort to people who makes racist comments because he looks Asian, such as how he doesn’t have an accent or asking where his parents were born from a stranger. I love the story surrounding the pennies. I enjoyed the lessons learned for Maddie. I like how Maddie doesn’t take anyone’s words but demand hard proofs. I highly recommend everyone to read this book!

Good luck everyone! Don’t forget to invite your friends!!

I simply enjoyed this book and would like to pass it along to another reader before it hits the market!

Thank you everyone for entering my giveaway! Congratulations to Reading to Unwind! You are the winner of this giveaway. I will contact you via Goodreads to follow up.

xoxo,
Jasmine

13 thoughts on “ARC Giveaway – Lucky in Love

  1. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    I love Kasie West books so much. I’m looking forward to this one! In regards to the giveaway – I follow your blog via WordPress, we are friends on Good Reads, I just followed you on Twitter, and my new favorite snack are Sargento Balanced Breaks – they have cheese, nuts, and dried fruit and are oh so good.

    Like

  2. bookishinbed says:

    Yay followed you && added you on goodreads. I’ve never read anything by Kasie West but I’ve heard good stuff about her books. Thanks for this giveaway!!

    I have to say my favorite snack is candy. I am obsessed with anything chocolate. Twix, m&ms, and snickers are some of my favorites.

    Like

Leave a Reply

