The Wood Review 

Synopsis from Edelweiss:

After her father goes missing in the woods that they protect, Winter tries to seek the truth in what happened, why the wood is changing, and what it all has to do with the arrival of a mysterious stranger in this thrilling YA debut.

When Winter’s dad goes missing during his nightly patrol of the wood, it falls to her to patrol the time portals and protect the travelers who slip through them. Winter can’t help but think there’s more to her dad’s disappearance than she’s being told.

She soon finds a young man traveling in the wood named Henry who knows more than he should. He believes if they can work together to find his missing parents, they could discover the truth about Winter’s dad.

The wood is poisoned, changing into something sinister—torturing travelers lost it. Winter must put her trust in Henry in order to find the truth and those they’ve lost.

Bobulski’s eerie debut is filled with friendship, family, and the responsibilities we choose and those we do not.

About: The Wood is a young adult fantasy written by Chelsea Bobulski. It will be published on 8/1/2017 by Feiwel & Friends, an imprint of Macmillan Publisher, paperback, 320 pages. The genres are young adult, fantasy, and fiction. This book is intended for readers ages 13 to 18. According to the publisher’s website, “Feiwel and Friends is a publisher of innovative children’s fiction and nonfiction literature, dedicated to “book by book” publishing, bringing the work of distinctive and outstanding authors, illustrators, and ideas to the marketplace. Feiwel and Friends is defined and guided by our principle: Our books are friends for life.” This is the author’s debut novel. Please see below for more information about the author.

My Experience: I started reading The Wood on 5/10/17 and finished it on 5/25/17. This book is an enjoyable read. I like the main character’s determination and self control. I like that she doesn’t settles but continue to seek to find an answer to unanswered questions. I enjoy the fantasy and the main character’s dedication to her family. I like how the story has a mix between normal people and people with higher power.

In this book, readers will follow the point of view of Winter Parish, a high school student trying to control some normal in her life by juggling school in the classrooms and performing the duties that was passed down to her from generations before. The wood behind her house is not normal. At night, it has a mind of its own where it attacks whoever travel in its path. During the day, specifically, morning and evening is when Winter does her job by helping travelers find their way back home. These travelers can come from the past or the future and they can come from all over the world. Winter’s father was the guardian of the woods before her, but one day, he didn’t come home. Winter is determine to find her dad and what happened to him. One day, a traveler came into the wood, instead of by accident like the others, he came with a purpose. He needs her help and that by helping him she may be able to find out what happened to her dad. However, harboring a traveler from a different time into her time is against the rules even if her need to find her father is greater.

I enjoy reading this book very much! I like how the author build the world little by little, shredding just enough information for readers to flip the page. I like the concept of the wood, path, changing colors of the leaves, fireflies, and the magic. It reminds me of my road trip to North Carolina to see fall foliage last year. This book has both family values and mystery. I feel the suspense and the eager to solve the mystery behind the leaves that are turning black. I love how the ending wrap up all of the loose ends nicely. I love that this is a standalone fantasy! I highly recommend everyone to read this book!

Pro: family, determination, standalone fantasy, fast paced, page turner, mystery, suspense, foliage, cover

Con: none

I rate it 5 stars!

Buy here for free shipping: Book Depository

About the Author:  Chelsea Bobulski

I was born in Columbus, Ohio and raised on Disney movies, classic musicals, and Buckeye pride. I graduated from The Ohio State University with a degree in history and promptly married my high school sweetheart. As a writer, I have a soft spot for characters with broken pasts, strange talents, and obstacles they must overcome for a brighter future. My debut YA novel, THE WOOD, will be published by Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan on August 1, 2017!

I am represented by Andrea Somberg of Harvey Klinger, Inc.
Follow her on twitter @ChelseaBobulski. chelseabobulski.com
(Photo and info obtained from the author’s website).

***Disclaimer: I won this book in a Twitter giveaway and my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

10 thoughts on “The Wood Review 

  1. Melissa @ BookNerdMomo says:

    I’m going to come back and read your review later as I want to go into this one completely blind but I had to see your star rating and I’m so glad you enjoyed this one Jasmine! You have me even more excited to read it. I’m definitely a tad jealous that you’ve gotten the chance to read it. Lucky! lol I’ve still yet to hear back from NetGalley sadly. 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      Lucky! Most definitely 🙂 It’s all thanks to you because I didn’t even know about this book until your Waiting for Wednesday post 🙂 I hope you will get a chance to read it soon! Can’t wait to read your review of this book!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. raistlin0903 says:

    Granted, I watch a lot of movies. But I am sometimes amazed at the amount of books you manage to read. Great stuff indeed 😀 This books sounds like another winner. Like the comment above mentions, I like that there is also a mix in with fantasy. As always a great review!😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      Thanks Michel! I have this urge to read as many books as I can because I don’t want to miss out on a good story! I also have a problem of collecting too many books so I have to read it 🙂 There’s also a pressure to read because I have a problem with advance reader copy given to bloggers from publishers. I can’t say no because all the books looks so inviting! hehehe..

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

