Such A Good Girl Review 

Synopsis from Simon and Schuster:

Things to know about Riley Stone:

Riley Stone is just about perfect. (Ask anyone.)
She has a crush on her French teacher, Alex Belrose. (And she suspects he likes her, too.)
Riley has her entire life planned out. (The plan is nonnegotiable.)
She’s never had a secret she couldn’t keep. (Not ever.)
Riley is sure that her life is on the right track. (And nothing will change that.)
She’s nothing like a regular teenager. (But she doesn’t have any problem admitting that.)
Riley doesn’t usually play games. (But when she does, she always wins.)
She thinks a game is about to start…
But Riley always has a plan…
And she always wins.

About: Such A Good Girl is a fiction novel written by Amanda K. Morgan. It will be published on 6/20/17 by Simon Pulse, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, paperback, 288 pages. This book is intended for readers ages 14 and up, grades 9 and up. The genres are young adult fiction and contemporary. According to Simon & Schuster’s website, the company was “founded in 1924 by Richard L. Simon and M. Lincoln Schuster.” It’s part of the CBS corporation since 2006. The company “dedicated to bringing an extensive cross section of first class information and entertainment in all printed, digital and audio formats to a worldwide audience of readers.” Please see below for more information about the author.

My Experience: I started reading Such A Good Girl on 4/6/17 and finished it on 4/8/17. This book is so twisted I didn’t even see it coming! I enjoy reading this book and I just couldn’t put it down. I like the suspense and the twists. I like reading about Riley and her friends, even though their perfection seems unrealistic. I like the organization of this book with some pages that talks about Riley and her accomplishments. I even like the hot French teacher. I like that old bookstore and definitely would want to shop there.

“It’s not like I’m stupid. It means he didn’t ask. It means he lied. It means nothing has changed and I’m just a fool who is wasting her time. And I am not a girl to be made a fool of.” p.197

In this book, readers will follow the point of views of Riley Elizabeth Stone, the good girl & the overachiever. She volunteered & made a difference in her community at many stages in her life. I like how careful she is when she goes to a forbidden place. I like that she is not easy and in control. There was an awkward to how the love started and maybe Riley only started to take notice of him because her friends told her to do something outside of her comfort zone. Another weird area is Riley throwing up as a reaction to him. How much of it is her strategy? I wish Riley discuss her strategies during this time. At the end, it seems to be in favor, but it’s unrealistic how all the guys throw themselves away for Riley, especially him. It would have been easier to understand if this book has his POV too.

“You just need to practice not giving a shit for once in your entire life.” p.53

Two things I like reading about in this book: suspense & forbidden love. This book is an easy read and a page turner. I like Riley’s brother, Ethan, and his views on life. He’s so easy going and doesn’t take things too seriously. I like his talks about a giant set of dominoes. This book has some diversity. I can tell Kolbie’s bf is Indian because his name is Jamal and the friend is Sandeep. I didn’t expect the ending to be that way. Overall, this book is a good read and at times addicting. I prefer being in on the strategies discussions more than being left in the dark and getting the surprise in the end, but at the same time, it’s good to get the unexpected surprise. I do recommend everyone to read this book!

Pro: smart characters, twists, suspense, humor, friendship, forbidden love, secret, fast paced, page turner, couldn’t put down

Con: awkward getting into the crush and little to no info on Riley’s plans

I rate it 4.5 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: Simon & Schuster Website or Book Depository

About the Author:


Amanda K. Morgan is a freelance writer living in Nashville, TN. She covers events and works on freelance projects when she isn’t working on her YA novels.
At age 15, Amanda finished her first novel and continued to write in college, where she graduated Magna Cum Laude with a degree in English and an emphasis in Creative Writing.
Amanda’s books include After Hours, written as Claire Kennedy, Secrets Lies and Scandals, and Such a Good Girl. (Info and photo obtained from the author’s website).

More information about Simon & Schuster:

Website: http://www.simonandschuster.com | Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Simonandschuster | Twitter: https://twitter.com/SimonSchuster | Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/simonandschuster

***Disclaimer: Many thanks to Simon Pulse for the opportunity to read and review. Please assured that my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

13 thoughts on “Such A Good Girl Review 

  1. Melissa @ BookNerdMomo says:

    This sounds interesting! I would have never thought by the synopsis that is has a suspense and twist. I’m pretty sure the only teacher-student relationships I’ve read were NA so I’ve never come across that in YA before. I might have to give this a read. Mostly because I love books full of twists lol. Great review as always, Jasmine!! 😊♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      Thanks Melissa! It’s really an interesting read.. I almost didn’t get it and had to go back some pages to read again. I hope you will have a chance to read it and I do look forward to seeing what you think of it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    I personally am a sucker for teacher-student relationships (fictional, of course) and I really enjoy super twisted books! They’re just so interesting and fascinating, and this one seems no exception.
    Riley seems really put together and a very layered character, which I like. And the cover is really nice, too! So I might pick this one up 🙂
    Great review, Jasmine!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      You sure understand the concept of the book very well there! Haha I hope you will enjoy the read! Can’t wait to see what you think! I had to flip back the pages to understand what’s going on. I’m liking this type of books too after this read. Are there any titles you have read that has good fiction teacher-student relationship?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

        Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to find any books with that sort of relationship, just manga. I read a lot of those hahaha
        So I’m really excited to try this one! Thanks again for the rec 🙂 I’ll definitely let you know my opinion once I get to it ^^

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

