Thunder Underground Review 

Synopsis from Boyds Mills Press:

In this collection of poems, noted children’s poet Jane Yolen takes readers on an expedition underground, exploring everything from animal burrows and human creations, like subways, near the surface—to ancient cities and fossils, lower down—to caves, magma, and Earth’s tectonic plates, deeper still below our feet. At the same time, in Josée Masse’s rich art, a girl and boy, accompanied by several animals, go on a fantastic underground journey. This book contains science, poetry, and an adventure story all rolled into one. But it’s also more than that: In these poems we see that beneath us are the past, present, future—history, truth, and story. This thought-provoking collection will evoke a sense of wonder and awe in readers, as they discover the mysterious world underneath us.

About: Thunder Underground is a children’s picture book of poems written by Jane Yolen and illustrated by Josée Masse. It was recently published on 3/28/17 by WordSong, an imprint of Boyds Mills Press (and Highlights), hardcover, 32 pages. The genres are poetry, picture book, and non-fiction. This book is intended for readers ages 5 to 10, grades K to 5. According to Boyds Mills Press’ website, WordSong is “the only children’s imprint in the United States specifically dedicated to poetry.” The company as a whole are devoted to “Fun with a Purpose” family media brand providing various publications of fiction, nonfiction, puzzle, craft & joke books designed to entertain, inform, and engage children of all ages. Please see below for more information about the author.

My Experience: I started reading Thunder Underground on 4/4/17 as a bedtime story for my 5 year-old son and we finished it that same night. I am definitely not a poem reader and neither is my son; however, I still love this book a lot. It has a lot of poems featured of the underground. My son and I love the underground aspects of this book and it showcase so well through the extra amazing illustrations. I am in love with all the illustrations in this book! Each page, the illustrations is extraordinary than the last and it helps me to understand the poems better.

In this book, readers are exposed to variety of poems that focuses on the underground, be it bugs or magma. There are subways, ant cities, fox dens, rabbit warrens, fossilized bones, and so many more! I had no idea there are poems for kids. When I think of poetry, I think of Emily Dickinson, but only teens/adults read it. I’m glad to learn about WordSong and the poetry the publisher provides for children nationwide. This book is truly amazing and I am awestruck of how much the illustrations compliment the poems.

Poetry is like a foreign language to me. This book win my attention because it’s made easier for kids to understand. What I love second most after the illustrations are the notes on the poems, both scientific and personal at the end of the book that explain further about each poems. It’s amazing how poetry can be written around nature: magma pools, pirate treasure, earthquake, old fossils, etc. I like the poems about tree roots, to be an ant, and pirate treasure. I highly recommend this book for everyone and definitely for a poetry beginner like me!

Pro: illustrations, science, nature, underground, animals, imagination,

Con: none

I rate it 5 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: Boyds Mills Press Website or Amazon: Thunder Underground or Book Depository

About the Author:

Jane Yolen has been called the Hans Christian Andersen of America and the Aesop of the twentieth century. Her many awards include both the Kerlan Award and the Regina Medal for the body of her work. She lives in Hatfield, Massachusetts, and St. Andrews, Scotland. http://www.janeyolen.com (Info obtained from Boyds Mills Press).

More Information about Boyds Mills Press:

Website: https://www.boydsmillspress.com/bmp | Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BoydsMillsPressBooks | Twitter: https://twitter.com/boydsmillspress | Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/boydsmillspress

***Disclaimer: Many thanks to WordSong for the opportunity to read and review. Please assured that my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

9 thoughts on “Thunder Underground Review 

  1. Diana says:

    Wow. I have never really read poems for kids. I know about rhymes but not poems. Nice to know that there are some written for the young readers. Sounds like a special book and your baby will grow up to be an ardent reader someday based on all these books you have been reading together ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      Thanks Diana 🙂 I am hoping my effort will make a difference. I’m glad to introduce you of children’s poems so that you will know of it when you need it haha..

      Like

Leave a Reply

