Seven Days of You Review 

Synopsis from Edelweiss:

Sophia Wachowski has seven days left in Tokyo before she moves back to the States for her senior year of high school. Seven days to say good-bye to the electric city she’s called home for years, to eat at every ramen shop she can find, to sing endless karaoke with her wild best friend, and to finally tell her crush she’s in love with him. Seven perfect days….Until Jamie Foster-Collins moves back to Japan and ruins everything.

Three years ago, Jamie left for boarding school in the States, but not before he crushed Sophia’s heart, and she hasn’t spoken to him since. Now the last thing she wants is for him to steal her leaving thunder with his stupid arriving thunder. But hating Jamie is a lot harder than it used to be. For starters, he’s a lot less awkward than she remembers…and a lot cuter. And as the relationships she thought were stable begin to explode around her, Jamie is the one person left for her to lean on. Sophia is forced to admit she may have misjudged Jamie, but can their seven short days of Tokyo adventures end in anything but good-bye?

A funny and poignant debut novel filled with first kisses and second chances.

About: Seven Days of You is a fiction novel written by Cecilia Vinesse. It was published on 3/7/17 by Little Brown Books for Young Readers, 336 pages. The genres are young adult, contemporary, romance, Japan, etc. This book is intended for ages 15 and up, grades high school sophomore to college level. This novel is the author’s debut! Please see below for more info about the author.

My Experience: I started reading Seven Days of You on 3/5/17 and finished it on 3/19/17. This book shouldn’t take me that long to read but there are so many books I want to read that the decision to stick one is really tough. Anyway, this book is an interesting read. In this book, readers will follow the point of view of Sophia aka Sofa Wachowski, a junior at T-Cad, an English speaking international school in Tokyo, Japan. She is one of among many classmates at the school where they often relocate to different countries due to their parent’s career. Sofa has lived in United States, Japan, and France, but was born in Japan. It’s definitely interesting to read about people living in different places.

“I think you choose where you belong, and those places will always be there to remind you of who you are. You just have to choose them.” 55%

Seven Days of You revolves around Sofa having only 7 days left in Japan before having to move back to USA because of her mother’s job. She has 3 best friends to have fun with, Mika, Caroline, and David. She crushes on David for many years. Then Jamie, who used to hang out with the group leave Japan to attend boarding school in USA announces his return. Sofa has some ugly history with Jamie before he left so she’s not too happy to know that he’s back. One of the ugly history was Jamie’s crush on Sofa, got jealous witnessing Sofa flirting with David, and sent a hurtful text about Sofa meant for Mika but Sofa received it instead. Ouch. I know.. But when Jamie comes back, he’s less geeky and more noticeably attractive. In the meantime, Sofa also has other issues to deal with, besides her overwhelm crushing life, she has to come to terms with her long distance father, leaving Japan for good, and the drama with her friends. This book is packed with emotions and drama and figuring out where home is.

“And now that I’d noticed it, I couldn’t un-notice it. I couldn’t imagine paying attention to anyone else if he was in the room.” 64%

I enjoy reading this book. I like how all the different characters from many different countries come together due to their parent’s job. It’s interesting when Sofa couldn’t say she’s Japanese even though she’s born in Japan but how her dad was born in France and her mom was born in Poland, but her mom moved to New Jersey when she was a baby so that makes her American and Sofa has relocated to America for a number of years as well. This technicality is actually interesting to me. I like that the author brings out the experiences of Tokyo in this book. I was born in Vietnam and Karaoke is huge there too. I have been to Karaoke rooms in Vietnam so reading this part of the book brings back memories for me. I like that the author have a mixture of relationships in this book, many of it might be more broken than happy, but it’s what many teens deal with. This book might be too much drama and moody for me, but I still highly recommend the read because this realistic contemporary is closely resemble to real life.

Pro: Karaoke, friendship, romance, language barriers, international school, diverse, easy to read, fast pace, Tokyo Japan

Con: teen drama, teen moodiness,

I rate it 4 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: Seven Days of You

About the Author:

Cecilia Vinesse is a dual citizen of the US and the UK, and, like the main character of Seven Days of You, went to an international school in Tokyo. She is a graduate of Barnard College in New York and holds a master’s degree in creative writing from St. Andrews. Seven Days of You is her debut novel. She lives in England. (Info obtained from Edelweiss).

Additional Information about the Author:

Website: http://www.ceciliavinesse.com | Twitter: https://twitter.com/cookieplease | Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/she_and_she/

***Disclaimer: Many thanks to the author Cecilia Vinesse, publisher Little Brown Books for Young Readers, and NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review. Please assured that my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

15 thoughts on “Seven Days of You Review 

  1. sophiethestark says:

    Great review, Jasmine! 🙂 I was expecting a cuter, adorable read but I’m glad it’s more realistic since I think that’s what contemporaries are missing nowadays. Also, the fact that it’s set in a Japan is a big plus for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      Thanks Sophie! Have you been to Japan before? I do like reading books set in different countries. It’s interesting to get a glimpse of their culture. I do want to go to Japan after this read too haha..

      Like

    • Jasmine says:

      Hope you will enjoy the book when you get a chance to read it. I do love to have a glimpse into another country when I read because I have never been to Tokyo and would really want to go someday 🙂

      Like

  2. Melissa @ BookNerdMomo says:

    I saw the covers for this floating on NetGalley and nearly requested it but then saw a lot of mixed reviews. It kind of reminds me of Anna and the French Kiss in a way (which is a book I loved) so I’m thinking I might have to give it a read one day. I’m not sure if I would like all the drama but beyond that it really does sound like an interesting read. Great review, Jasmine! 😊💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

