Summer Brain Quest Review 

Summary from Workman Publishing Website:

From the creators of America’s #1 educational bestseller Brain Quest comes Summer Brain Quest: Between Grades K & 1—a workbook, a game, and an outdoor adventure! It’s an interactive and personalized quest to keep kids excited about learning all summer long between Kindergarten and 1st grade.

Summer Brain Quest: Between Grades K & 1 begins with a map that guides kids through a workbook filled with activities based on phonics, reading, writing, counting, shapes, seasons, habitats, map skills, and more! As you complete activities, you earn stickers to track your progress on the map. Jam-packed with curriculum-based exercises, bonus challenges, outside activities, over 150 stickers, a summer reading list, and a Brain Quest mini deck, Summer Brain Quest: Between Grades K & 1 covers the core concepts in English language arts, math, science, and social studies so kids keep essential skills sharp all summer.

About: Summer Brain Quest is a children’s workbook written by Megan Hewes Butler and Claire Piddock. The consulting editor is Kimberly Oliver Burnim and the illustrators are Edison Yan and Maris Wicks. It will be published on 4/18/2017 by Workman Publishing, paperback, 160 pages. This workbook is intended for children ages 5 to 6, grades K to 1. The publisher believes that learning should be an adventure – a quest for knowledge. Their mission is to “guide children on that quest, to keep them excited, motivated, and curious, and to give them the confidence they need to do well in school.” Please see below for more information about the publisher and the authors.

My Experience: My 5-year old son started working on this Summer Brain Quest on 3/2/17 and finished it on 3/12/17. I have him worked on 2-3 levels each weekend. We also worked on a few pages during the week. I sat with him and read the directions to help him. He is still learning how to read because he will not start Kindergarten until Fall 2017. He loved working on this workbook. Each page is very fun and makes learning interesting. He enjoyed the mazes, math exercises, and drawings. He doesn’t like tracing words much but when he puts an effort to it, I complimented that his writing is beautiful. I also asked him to read over the sentence he traced.

This workbook is organized by alphabetical order. Each level has a few alphabets and each page start with a new alphabet letter. Each letter makes a word begins with that letter or pictures begins with that letter. There are different fun activities in each level: a maze where my son is to lead a penguin to the igloo, coloring different ocean animals, math exercises by adding up fruits or veggies, mark whether things or inside or outside, filling in the missing numbers in the ice cubes, etc. There is a map and stickers for kids to stick to as they complete each level but my son didn’t do that part. This workbook focuses on variety of subjects: science, social studies, English language arts, and math. Each level is color coded so even the kids can keep track of their progress.

As a parent, I really enjoy sitting down with my son and helping him work through this workbook. I love the many fun ways of learning. Each page is filled with different activities that it feels like they are playing a game. Some days he actually volunteers to work on this workbook over his other lessons where he feels it was more of a homework than doing this. I highly recommend parents to invest on this workbook or similar ones because it’s the fun in learning that makes kids want to learn. Brain Quest has many workbooks for all ages. Click HERE to check out your choices. It’s learning without feeling like doing the study. When your kids thinks they are playing games when in fact they are actually learning, it makes your part in enhancing their knowledge a lot easier. I want my kid to excel and workbooks like these helps a lot because I work full-time and I just don’t have the expertise and energy to make learning fun. Therefore, I highly recommend you to give it a try.

Pro: fun learning activities, makes learning more like a game than work, illustrations, many areas of learning, problem solving, math, science, social studies,

Con: none

I rate it 5 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: Workman Publishing Website or Book Depository

About the Author:

Megan Butler is an author to several titles, including Take My Breath Away and The Chosen Ones. She also authored on another Brain Quest for grades 1 & 2. Please click on her name to learn more about her books on Goodreads.

Claire Piddock is an author to many titles, including to Decimals, Line, Bar, and Circle Graphs, Dots, Plots, and Histograms, and many more. Please click on her name to learn more about her books on Goodreads.

More Information about Workman Publishing:

Website: https://www.workman.com | Twitter: https://twitter.com/workmanpub | Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/workmanpublishing

***Disclaimer: Many thanks to Workman Publishing for the opportunity to experience this workbook and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

9 thoughts on “Summer Brain Quest Review 

  1. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    I remember Brain Quest! I used to use the flashcards with my younger sister in the summer. It was a lot of fun; we turned it into a game. I’m glad to see that this series still exists. These workbook pages are very engaging. It looks like they are really on point with what engages children. Will you be doing more of this with your son?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      Yes. I really like these types of workbooks. I bought a book similar to this but it’s from Sylvan Learning. I got a copy at Costco for $11.95 Not cheap but it makes learning fun and I need my son to learn haha.. Also, Dollar Tree has many workbooks too, for $1 each but probably 10-15 pages of exercises. I also picked up a few for him to try. He likes it and I’m happy he’s learning 🙂

      Like

  2. TeacherofYA says:

    BrainQuest has been around for awhile! I remember playing their games as a kid. I felt like a little genius when I figured out their puzzles. It used to be like a flash card game. I’m glad they’re still doing their thing, helping kiddies learn!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      Oh wow.. really? That’s awesome that you got to experience it. I wish I had known about them when I was younger. My dad would make up many math problems for me to do but it was boring and I didn’t like doing more work. I am definitely envious of my son because he gets to work on this workbook while I sat on the side and watch.. hahaha..

      Like

Leave a Reply

