Everything You Want Me To Be Review

Synopsis from NetGalley:

Full of twists and turns, Everything You Want Me to Be reconstructs a year in the life of a dangerously mesmerizing young woman, during which a small town’s darkest secrets come to the forefront…and she inches closer and closer to her death.

High school senior Hattie Hoffman has spent her whole life playing many parts: the good student, the good daughter, the good citizen. When she’s found brutally stabbed to death on the opening night of her high school play, the tragedy rips through the fabric of her small town community. Local sheriff Del Goodman, a family friend of the Hoffmans, vows to find her killer, but trying to solve her murder yields more questions than answers. It seems that Hattie’s acting talents ran far beyond the stage. Told from three points of view—Del, Hattie, and the new English teacher whose marriage is crumbling—Everything You Want Me to Be weaves the story of Hattie’s last school year and the events that drew her ever closer to her death.

Evocative and razor-sharp, Everything You Want Me to Be challenges you to test the lines between innocence and culpability, identity and deception. Does love lead to self-discovery—or destruction?

bowline2

About: Everything You Want Me to Be is a fiction thriller written by Mindy Mejia. It was published on 1/3/17 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, 340 pages. The genres are mystery, thriller, suspense, and fiction. Please see below to learn more about the author.

bowline2
My Experience:
I started reading Everything You Want Me to Be on 2/23/17 and finished it on 2/27/17. This book is a great read. I enjoy the thrill and the detective work. I like that this book has diversity, even though it’s incorrectly presented. Portia Nguyen is Vietnamese, not Hmong and she’s upset that her parents made her speak Vietnamese and not Hmong. Hopefully the finished copy of this book has since been corrected. I like the organization of this book and the multiple POVs. I like the twists and turns and the suspense in the story even though at times, readers can guess who the bad guy is, the author point the blame on someone else so the readers are forced to change their minds about the killer. These twists makes the read so much more fascinating.

In this book, readers will follow the point of views of Hattie Hoffmans, a people pleaser. Everyone loves her because she tells people what they want to hear including her parents, teachers, friends, etc. She likes acting and participates in school plays. She considers herself acting or play a role when she’s among her friends and people around her. Another point of view is Sheriff Del Goodman. He investigates the gruesome murder of a high school senior and finding himself in a tough spot because the girl is the daughter of his best fishing buddy. The third point of view is an English teacher, Peter Lund. He likes to read and discuss classics. He’s from the city but moved out to the farms because his wife, Mary Beth wanted to take care of her elderly mother Elsa. The supporting characters who play a big role in this book are Portia, Tommy, Mary Beth, Mona, Bud, and Winifred. I like Winifred and her gun. She has spunk!

I like reading this thriller. The reading is interesting because I get to read the happenings leading up to the girl being killed and the investigations after she was killed. I like following Sheriff Del’s thoughts. I like the honest truth about the waiting time of DNA test in reality vs TV. I like his banter with Jake, Del’s chief deputy. It’s interesting how acting can be twisted into manipulation. I don’t enjoy much of the curses because if it seems too farfetched for Del or Peter or Hattie, then of course it’s farfetched for the readers too. Overall, this book is still a great read and I highly recommend it.

bowline2

Pro: twists, suspense, mystery, detective work, thriller, manipulation, diversity, romance, some humor, fast paced, page turner

Con: curse

I rate it 4.5 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: Book Depository

About the Author:

mindy

My name is Mindy Mejia and I’m a writer. I write because, ever since I was six years old, my favorite game has been pretend. My life doesn’t have symmetry, theme, symbolism, or meditated beauty and I gravitate toward these things like a houseplant to the sun. I love the perfect words; I love how “fierce” and “confounded” and “swagger” look on the page and how my chest expands when I read them. I write because I believe in the reality of my fantasies, the truth in my fabrications. I’ve always had stories sneaking around my head, thrillers like THE DRAGON KEEPER and EVERYTHING YOU WANT ME TO BE, and sometimes I inhabit those stories more than my own life. (Best not to mention that last part to my husband, kids, or boss.) (Info obtained from Goodreads and follow the link to her name to visit the author’s website).

***Disclaimer: Many thanks to the author Mindy Mejia, publisher Atria/Emily Bestler Books, and NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

9 thoughts on “Everything You Want Me To Be Review

  1. Diana says:

    Great review Jasmine. This sounds like a good thriller. I like it when an author uses multiple PoVs in a way that it helps heighten the suspense. I also like the fact that the story covers the murder victim before and after their death. I will definitely add this to my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      Yes, I definitely like the heighten in the suspense part 🙂 makes the reading much more interesting! Everybody suspecting everybody makes us readers much more excited haha..

      Like

Leave a Reply

