The Upside of Unrequited Review 

Synopsis from Edelweiss:
Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.
Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is.

Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny, flirtatious, and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.
There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.
Right?

bowline2

About: The Upside of Unrequited is a fiction novel written by Becky Albertalli. It will be published on 4/11/17 by Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins, 352 pages. The genres are young adult, contemporary, romance, and GLBT. This author is well-known for her other novel called Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda. Please read more about the author below. (Follow link to see my review of Simon).

bowline2

My Experience: I started reading The Upside of Unrequited on 2/11/17 and finished it on 2/22/17. This book is very modern where the parents are two moms. One mom, Patty, has twin girls – both seventeen, Molly and Cassie, using a sperm donor. Another mom, Nadine (Deenie) using the same sperm donor but couldn’t get pregnant until she’s 42 so producing a son 16 years younger than the twin sister, Xavier Xav who is 1 year old. Cassie likes girls and Molly likes boys. In this book, readers will follow the point of view of Molly who crushes a lot. She’s not skinny so she thinks it’s easier to crush secretly so she won’t have to deal with rejections and humiliations.

“Because when you spend so much time just intensely wanting something, and then you actually get the thing? It’s magic.” 91%

This book centered around teenagers and their thoughts. They have sleepovers or house parties where their friends sneaked in alcohol and discuss about sex. Molly always feels out of place because she has never had a boyfriend let alone kiss or sex. She only hears stories from her sister Cassie, friend Olivia, and cousin Abby’s experiences. I enjoy following Molly’s train of thoughts because I sure as well thought the same thing when I was growing up. All of her questions and concerns are legitimate. Her low self-esteems and her insecurities makes it realistic and relatable to many young adult readers. Molly also struggles dealing with her sister having her attention on her new girlfriend and how Molly deals with being the third wheel.

“Sometimes I feel like I’m the last alone person. Like maybe there aren’t seven and a half billion people in the world. Maybe there are seven and a half billion and one. I’m the one.” 27%

There is diversity in this book. The author brings a Korean American into the story, Mina, where she has never dated and her first kiss is with a girl. This book has a lot going on and everything flows together. I like the texting and the three dots anticipation. I like how Molly’s parents are easy going even when they know what’s going on and they take actions right away. The swearing bothers me a bit because I don’t cuss growing up. I also don’t like when Nadine cuss in front of Xavier or drink wine when she’s still breast feeding. The mortifying feeling Molly has in this book is funny to read and relatable. This book, overall, is easy going and I highly recommend anyone looking for an easy to the heart read.

bowline2

Pro: teen question/concerns, relatable, friends/family, diversity, some humor and some romance

Con: lots and lots of swearing

I rate it 5 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: Book Depository

About the Author:
becky

Becky Albertalli is the author of the acclaimed novel Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. She is a clinical psychologist who specializes in working with children and teens. Becky now lives with her family in Atlanta, where she spends her days writing fiction for young adults. You can visit her online at http://www.beckyalbertalli.com and twitter.com/beckyalbertalli.

 ***Disclaimer: Many thanks to the author Becky Albertalli, publisher HarperCollins, and Edelweiss for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

28 thoughts on “The Upside of Unrequited Review 

  1. namitha says:

    Omg! I have to read this book! It feels like I can really relate to Molly 😊
    Also, did u receive an arc of this book?
    Apologies, I accidentally unfollowed u while looking at ur blog just now 😅 so I had to follow u again…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      Yes, I received the eARC. Sorry, I haven’t been able to visit your blog and many others lately.. There are too many books I want to read haha.. I hope you will get a chance to read this book. It’s what we girls think of when we were young haha..

      Liked by 1 person

      • namitha says:

        Hi! That’s totally fine, I understand. Besides, I actually haven’t posted anything for 2 and a half months now… so there wouldn’t be much to see on my blog anyway…😊
        Also, if you don’t mind, can you pls tell me how you received the eARC…I’ve been looking for information but I’m still a little confused about how it all works…
        Thanks for replying 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Melissa @ BookNerdMomo says:

    I’m glad to see you ended up enjoying this one, Jasmine! I’ve been hearing a lot of great things about it as well as the author’s other book, which I really need to read. This one definitely seems like really relatable read. I’ll have to add this to my list! Great review as always. 😁💕

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lara says:

    You’re lucky finding gems you ended up loving through these sites, I love your review and the book seems interesting, I don’t mind swearing because a lot of people a lot of young people do lol, and but I don’t do it a lot lol. I remember my childhood till I was about 15, my friends and I condemned anyone who swore, then we realised it’s just a form of expression and just because society says it is bad doesn’t mean it is and we turned the words into good things.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      I understand swearing can be used as an emphasis for a saying and maybe it’s this way in this book but I think there are other words people can use for emphasis, don’t have to be a cuss word 😊 it just sounds harsh to me. You don’t use Edelweiss & NetGalley for books? I like these sites because it allows me to learn of new books 😊

      Like

  4. Shouni says:

    Awesome review Jasmine!! I just finished reading this too and I also loved it. I may have even liked it more than “Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda”. Molly is such a relatable character and I could relate to a lot of her insecurities too. I absolutely loved the diversity!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      How cool! I will check out your review when you post it up 😊 Yeah, Molly has all the concerns I went through even though I was not fat but I still think like her haha I can’t decide which book I like more haha I don’t have a sister but I have experiences being a third wheel with my friends and yeah, it was uncomfortable 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

