The Gender Game 

About: The Gender Game is a fiction novel written by Bella Forrest. This book will be published on 9/24/2016 by NightLight Press, 640 pages. The genres are Dystopia, Young Adult, Fantasy, and Science Fiction.  There are two books in this series that I am aware of: book 1 is called The Gender Game and book 2 is called The Gender Secret. The author has written a series of 34 books called A Shade of Vampire which I have yet to read. This is the first time I learned of a series that long!

line5

Synopsis from NetGalley:
FOR FANS OF THE HUNGER GAMES & DIVERGENT COMES A STORY LIKE NO OTHER…
A toxic river divides nineteen-year-old Violet Bates’s world by gender.
Women rule the East. Men rule the West.
Welcome to the lands of Matrus and Patrus.
Ever since the disappearance of her beloved younger brother, Violet’s life has been consumed by an anger she struggles to control. Already a prisoner to her own nation, now she has been sentenced to death for her crimes.
But one decision could save her life.
To enter the kingdom of Patrus, where men rule and women submit.
Everything about the patriarchy is dangerous for a rebellious girl like Violet. She cannot break the rules if she wishes to stay alive.
But abiding by rules has never been Violet’s strong suit and she’s tired of playing a game she didn’t agree to.
Now thrust into more danger than she could have ever predicted, Violet is forced to sacrifice everything in the forbidden kingdom … including forbidden love.
In a world divided by gender, only the strongest survive…

line5

My Experience: I started reading The Gender Game on 9/18/16 and finished it on 9/23/16. This book is an amazing read! I like the start. Action is brought upon the readers right away. I held my breath and read on. I enjoy every step of the way. There is hardly any dull moments in this book. The writing is flawless and the flow is perfect. This book has intense and humor and that forbidden love that got me excited! The secret operations with Lee and Violet is interesting to read. I especially enjoy the adventures with Violet and Viggo.

The plot is interesting. It seems so simple that men rule the west and women rule the east and there’s a river to separate the two. In the land where men rules, men dominate and women is the submissive obedience individuals where they are 100% dependent on the husband. Same goes in the land of the women, where aggressive boys are set aside and women are raise to be independent and to have babies through inseminations.

The characters are well developed. Readers follow Violet Bates through her experiences and point of views. She breaks the law trying to save her brother and ended up losing him. Her sense of purpose for living is to one day reunite with her brother. She’s tough, brave, and independent. She stands up to bully and definitely not submissive. I like that there’s a letter from Lee at the end of the book which explains a bit more about his character. I like Viggo’s character too and I’m glad that his character is very informative.

The ending really left me wanting more. At first I was feeling uneasy about the length of the book but as I approached 80% of the book, I really didn’t want it to end. The ending is a bit of a cliffhanger. I am so curious to know what happens next! What is in that egg? What happens to the aggressive boys in Matrus? What happens to Viggo? Will Violet have a happy ending?

line5

Pro: page turner, fast paced, action packed, humor, intense, forbidden love, secrets, deepvox (haha), suspense

Con: I wish there had been Viggo’s POV!

I rate it 5 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: The Gender Game (The Gender Games) (Volume 1)

***Disclaimer: I received this ebook for free via NetGalley in an exchanged for an honest review. Many thanks to the author Bella Forrest, NetGalley, and Nightlight Press for the opportunity to read and review. Thank You!

xoxo,
Jasmine

19 thoughts on “The Gender Game 

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    I saw it on NetGalley…it’s really that good?
    Well, you and I share a lot of books in common, so I’m adding it to my TBR on Goodreads!
    Can’t request on NetGalley bc I got another wish fulfilled, and now I’m at 6 books, which puts my at 79%. Don’t like being under the 80 mark. And I have library books, too. But I’m adding it for sure!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      Which book did you got your wish fulfilled? That’s awesome! Congrats! Will be awhile before I get up to 79% haha.. I need to read more but I am lost in the weekly memes.. they are so much fun 🙂

      Like

    • Jasmine says:

      And also, the book is pretty interesting. I have always wonder about the concept of Gender being divided but after read this book, I think I like the world we are living in now as is with less violence haha..

      Like

  2. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    Cliffhangers! See, this is why I don’t read series until all the books are out. They drive me crazy! I’m so glad you enjoyed this. I assume you requested the next book? 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jasmine says:

      Thanks! It’s an easy read. There’s no war, so it’s a nice break from The Young Elites for me 🙂 The characters are well liked. After the read, there’s a website, the author allows you to fill out a form to request the second book. Finger crossed because now I feel the cliffhanger after this book 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

