The Rose Society 

img_4409

About: The Rose Society is a fiction novel written by Marie Lu. The Rose Society is book 2 of The Young Elites series and it was published on 10/13/2015 by G.P. Putnam’s, 395 pages. The genres are fantasy, young adult, dystopia, romance, paranormal, science fiction, and magic. The Young Elites series has 3 books: book 1 is called The Young Elites, book 2 is called The Rose Society, and book 3 is called The Midnight Star (currently on Edelweiss available for request). The author also has another popular series which is called Legend and there are 3 books in that series as well.

line3

My Experience: I started reading The Rose Society on 9/11/16 and finished it on 9/17/16. It shouldn’t have taken me this long to read but life and work got in the way. This book is, yes, intense. I am glad that it’s full of actions. I don’t care for extreme details in the books I read but somehow in this book I was caught off guard several times. I thought the characters were sitting or lying down, but next thing they are being pushed against the wall or walking away, well, when did they stand up? And then on page 128 where the book says Adelina & Violetta are under solid invisibility and both were wondering how Magiano will find them when page 129 the Night King’s soldier grab Adelina’s arm. Invisibility means no one can see them. I just like a good flow to the story where one thing should lead to another, but not this way. Also Magiano says he has to stay close to Gemma to fly the baliras, but after she’s gone, he still able to drive the baliras. Also, how does Sergio and Violetta able to drive the baliras? Some parts of the book I didn’t want to put down, but others, I don’t care for such as the lengthy hallucinations and nightmares of the underworld.

I don’t think I have read a book where the lead character is full of hatred and villain-like. Of course, she has reasons to be and her character is often well played in this book. The romance took me by surprise because I didn’t see where the attraction came from. Adelina is smarter in this book where she knows what the Beldain Queen’s intentions were and using others to her advantage. Magiano’s music.. is missing during battle and that’s too bad because his power is not only to mimic but also to lead people to death and it was not utilized during any of the battles. The Beldain Queen’s love interest, yup, surprised me too! hehe.. Enzo, I feel sorry for him in this book as much as in the last book. This tragic thing shouldn’t happen to a strong character. Overall, this series so far has been a good read and I am glad to have read it. The fantasy is almost farfetched for me, but not too farfetched.

line3

Pro: action packed, page turner, dark/villain-like lead character, new characters with useful powers, gondola & baliras

Con: little to no romance, hardly any humor, lengthy hallucinations, and unexplained happenings stated above

I rate it 4 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: The Rose Society (A Young Elites Novel)

***Disclaimer: I borrowed this ebook from Overdrive and my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

8 thoughts on “The Rose Society 

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    Yeah, I noticed a couple inconsistencies, too. Good call.
    Are you still awaiting approval from Edelweiss? I am. I better get started on a Disruption soon. I’m almost afraid to ask for any other books, but there’s so many good ones on NetGalley and Edelweiss lately. Argh!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      Yes. Still waiting for book 3. I am reading Wrecked from Edelweiss now then will give Disruption a second try. I also started on the gender game, approved from NetGalley, so far so good, but it’s long, 640 pages.

      Like

  2. Lara says:

    I’m staying away from series and books that look like this, or have plots like this… its dystopia that kills me. Life is getting in the way of my blogging, I can’t wait to go to school, so I can know my schedule and plan my blogging schedule to match!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    I haven’t read any of The Young Elite books yet, as the line at the library is SUPER long. But I’m excited to get them eventually.
    An anti-hero protagonist sounds awesome. It’s been a while since I’ve read such a book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

