The Winner’s Curse

img_4160

About: The Winner’s Curse is a fiction novel written by Marie Rutkoski. This book was published on 3/4/2014 by Farrar Straus Giroux, 355 pages. There are 3 books in The Winner’s Trilogy: book 1 is The Winner’s Curse, book 2 is The Winner’s Crime, and book 3 is The Winner’s Kiss. The genres are fantasy, young adult, romance, and dystopia. This author has a Ph.D from Harvard University. Much respect for her, to write good books and to be educated by the best school.

line2line2line2line2

My Experience: I started reading The Winner’s Curse on 8/13/16 and finished it on 8/15/16. This book is an amazing read! I like that this book started out interesting and continue to capture my attention throughout the book. This hardcover book is unique. I like the sideway layout and the pages are soft to the touch. Kestrel is an ideal character I like to read about. She’s clever, brave, beautiful, talented, and leaders respect her opinions. She has weaknesses, but I enjoy the narrative of her thinking and reasoning. I would hope to have more point of view from Arin. He has a strong self control, a bit secretive. Something about the forbidden love that excited me and the read is fun surrounding that. There are some romance scenes and it’s very appropriate for any age. I like that the title has everything to do with the book. I like that Kestrel’s father is a strategist. I like strategy before the actions. I like that the author give us readers glimpses of the plan: Arin’s plan and the Emperor’s plan. I only didn’t like the dream story Enai told because I didn’t like the ending of the dream. During the read, I felt tense. I shed tears. I smiled. I couldn’t get enough. I am ready for the second book. The story is well written and flow well. No actions were dived in blindly.  I highly recommend the read. The rave on this book has not failed me.

line2line2line2line2

Pro: forbidden love, a different world, strong female lead, page turner, couldn’t put down kind of read, full of actions

Con: Enai’s story in the dream.

I rate it 5 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: [ The Winner’s Curse Rutkoski, Marie ( Author ) ] { Hardcover } 2014

***Disclaimer: I borrowed this book from my local public library and my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

15 thoughts on “The Winner’s Curse

Leave a Reply

