Blue Lily, Lily Blue

About: Blue Lily, Lily Blue, 391 pages, is a fiction novel written by Maggie Stiefvater. It was published in 10/21/2014 by Scholastic Press. The genres are fantasy, paranormal, young adult, and magic. There are 4 books in The Raven Cycle series: 1. The Raven Boys, 2. The Dream Thieves, 3. Blue Lily, Lily Blue, and 4. The Raven King. This author lives in Virginia and has written a few other books. The book setting is also in Virginia. She won awards for these books.

My Experience: I started reading Blue Lily, Lily Blue on 8/2/16 and finished it on 8/7/16. This book started out interesting, up until half of the book and then it gets boring. Truly boring because I just read for the sake of reading. It gets boring by dragging out about the search, introducing new characters, and things happening without evidence. As pointed out, Gansey has lots of books and the professor complimented him of being a good researcher, so then why Gansey and his friends go waking up sleepers without knowing who they are before they are woken up. Piper, a stay-at-home and not a model wife, why is she playing any role in searching? Guess we’ll know about her in the final book of the series. I feel the events in this book just go on and on without planning and then the characters just know what it is when comes to it rather than strategizing ahead of time. The cover of the book is cool, like the first two books, but this book fail to interest me more than the first two. As much as the friends analyze each other, they sure don’t analyze their search as much this time around. The romance is bland and humor is hardly there. The ending of the second book about Ronan’s secrets toyed with us that there may be something more in this book, but there isn’t. This book lack excitement. Sometimes I read through paragraphs and had no idea what I was reading. Nothing jumps out and grab me.

Pro: the title of the book is mentioned in the book, which is nice

Con: dull moments, dragging, lack of research and planning,

I rate it 3.5 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle)

***Disclaimer: I borrowed this book from my local public library and my opinions are honest. I would highly recommend you to read it from the library before you buy the books. You will at least only buy the good ones and save your money from buying the not so good books.

xoxo,
Jasmine

12 thoughts on “Blue Lily, Lily Blue

  1. Girl Who Reads says:

    Thank you for this honest review, I’ve been wondering whether to read this series for a long time, hearing mixed reviews on it constantly! I think I’ll give this series a pass for now, maybe borrowing the first from the library just to see if I enjoy it or not. This blog has been so helpful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TeacherofYA says:

    A nice, honest review. Something’s kept me away from this series, and I don’t know what. I liked the Shiver series. But this one seemed a little weird to me, I’ll just have to put it on my mental “maybe” list. Thanks for the heads up!

    Like

    • Jasmine says:

      The Shiver series doesn’t get any hype at all. I don’t see anyone review it. I read this raven cycle series because everyone seems to read it and there are a lot of 5 stars. I think they rate 5 stars for the covers and the characters but the main plot is just plain weird.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

