Clockwork Angel Review


About: Clockwork Angel is book 1 of The Infernal Devices series written by Cassandra Clare. The Infernal Devices series has 3 books: book 1 is Clockwork Angel, book 2 is Clockwork Prince, and book 3 is Clockwork Princess. This series is a prequel to The Mortal Instruments series, which consists of 6 books. This prequel series is based in London, 1878. The genres are fantasy, young adult, paranormal, steampunk, and romance. Clockwork Angel was published on 8/31/2010 by Simon & Schuster, 479 pages.

My Experience: I started reading Clockwork Angel on 7/11/16 and finished it on 7/25/16 at 1:48AM. It’s an interesting read. I like the Institute and the people that runs it. I like that it takes in orphans and give them a good home. Jem’s story is heart wrenching and he seems so sweet. Too bad this book doesn’t focus much on him. Will, on the other hand, is a hot/cold person that I wouldn’t want to be friends with in real life, but somehow reading about him is interesting. Can’t wait to learn more of his secrets because this book 1 is a huge cliffhanger when comes to Will. Tessa, a character I like and dislike. She’s unappreciative at times and at other times, caring and clever. Mr. Mortman and the puzzle around it makes the book a good read. I enjoy the witty chat between the characters, entertaining and cruel, yet, humor is there. I like the little romance in this book, the hint from Jem, Thomas, Sophie, Tessa, and Will makes the read worthwhile. I like that the author has a little chapter at the end sharing about what’s real in the book and what is fantasy. I always wonder when I read a fiction book, whether the things I learned, I should take with me as knowledge or forget about it because it’s just some fantasy. I don’t enjoy the poetry in each chapter much and often skip reading it, a topic I’m unfamiliar with anyway. I admire anyone who can quote a book like Will and Tessa does because I can’t.

Pro: fast paced, page turner, witty chat, clever characters, orphans, humor,

Con: cliffhanger on many characters – not enough background to each characters and reasons for their orphanage, but I’m assuming that may come at book 2 or 3.

I rate it 4 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, Book 1) by Clare, Cassandra 1st (first) Edition (8/31/2010)

***Disclaimer: I borrowed this book from my local public library and my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

9 thoughts on “Clockwork Angel Review

  1. Shouni says:

    I absolutely love this trilogy! I also have mixed feelings about Tessa, she can be pretty annoying sometimes but then she makes up for it. I actually loved the poems in the chapters but they can be too much once the story progresses and you really just want to know what’ll happen. Don’t worry, there’s plenty of Jem in the other books. 😀

    P.S – I nominated you for the Real Neat Blog Award. https://throughthebookportal.wordpress.com/2016/07/29/real-neat-blog-award/

    Like

  2. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    I love this series it’s one of my favorite trilogies, Jem is such a little sweetheart and I could just live in this time period forever. A lot more is revealed in the next books so hopefully all your questions get answered 🙂 Is this your first Cassie Clare read or have you read TMI as well? Cant wait to see what you think of book 2!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmine says:

      I thought to read the prequel before reading the TMI so that I could understand the whole thing and not missing out on anything. I do like Jem too. Do you like the TMI series? You don’t mind wearing those big dresses all day everyday? 🙂 Like Tessa said, it’s hard to run around in and always have to carry the skirt to walk up the stairs otherwise risk tripping over haha.. But I guess you will get to be a real lady in those dresses and take your time to move around rather than the time crunch in this day and age where we are always running late and I’m sure I will trip over those dresses a million times hehe

      Liked by 1 person

      • AdoptaBookAUS says:

        I didn’t think about the dresses 😅 I think Tessa puts on pants at some point on the series so hopefully if I lived back then I could to haha!

        I’ve read TMI and the books get better as they go on but liked TID series a lot more 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

