Mockingjay

About: Mockingjay, 392 pages, is an adventure novel written by Suzanne Collins. This is book three of the series of 3 books (1. The Hunger Games, 2. Catching Fire, and 3. Mockingjay). They all have been re-created into movies. The first book was published in 9/14/2008, second in 9/1/2009, and third in 8/24/2010 by Scholastic Inc.

My Experience: I started reading Mockingjay on 6/22/16 and finished it on 6/26/16. I’m not excited with this book as I was with the first one. The love triangle doesn’t occur as often as the thoughts of revenge or rebellion. The main character, Katniss, lose my support in this book. She walks around talking about revenge, doing whatever she wants, and getting herself injured often. Although being injured, she only focus on self destruction by training for the war, suicide, and only ended up getting injured some more. I thought she may reach the enemy on her own, but she got injured and then the twist at the end with the enemy was so unexpected. I’m glad the author finally ended the love triangle and give us readers a glimpse into the future. I guess Katniss is the kind of person that doesn’t like to talk mushy feelings stuffs, that’s why there isn’t a lot of it in this book. I like the chat between Gale and Peeta. If the love triangle was focused on a bit more, I would enjoy the book a lot more. As I have guessed it after the Catching Fire, Peeta’s family was left to fend for themselves. Is there any book where boys protect their family? Gale does, in the beginning, but when he finds that he lose the girl, he left home. So the family is left to fend for themselves. Katniss plays nice to her family for a short time too, but she is too self-focused. Here is my review on the first book The Hunger Games and the second book Catching Fire.

Pro: there is an ending that worth the read, the hanging tree song & explanation gives me the chill when I read at night

Con: a lot of rebellion talks, self destruction, war training

I rate it 3.5 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: Mockingjay (The Hunger Games)

***Disclaimer: I bought this book with my own money and my opinions are honest.

xoxo,
Jasmine

7 thoughts on “Mockingjay

  1. Shouni says:

    I actually didn’t like Mockingjay the first time I read it but I ended up loving it the second time. You’re right, the love triangle was getting boring and I was glad too when the triangle was finally resolved. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

