The Passenger

img_2475

About: The Passenger, 304 pages, is a fiction novel written by Lisa Lutz. The genre is mystery, thriller, and suspense. It was published on 3/1/16 by Simon & Schuster. The author lives in New York and has written other books, including How to Start a Fire, Heads you Lose, and more. I have yet to read her other books.

My Experience: I started reading The Passenger on 4/17/16 and finished it on 4/22/16 at 1:48AM. This book is a great read. It keeps me on the edge of my seats and I just couldn’t put the book down. If I have time to read it, I think I would read it all in one day. I like that it’s fast-paced and that there’s a lot happening. The author gives a clear picture when she describes the pickpocketing techniques, how Nora Glass changed her looks, how she obtain a place to sleep, how she’s careful and her smart thinking into keeping herself safe. One part I don’t like is towards the end, 80% of the book, where the author fail to share with the readers where Nora has the money for motel and drinks after she got robbed of all of her cash. Also, the two hit men that came for her in Austin, she looks at the driver and knows it’s him, well, who is he? The ending is left open for readers to decide but I would like to know the reaction of Mr. Oliver when he finally knows what Nora knows of him. I guess Logan and Ryan doesn’t know the true identity of Nora? The suspense in Blue, very little background shared about her and very little info on what’s she’s planning is not so great even though she goes above and beyond to pay back her debt, but I think the book would have been stronger if there’s a chapter in Blue’s point of view. Overall, it’s a great read nonetheless and as I read, I think of the real women out in the real world, on the run away from their past and start a new life with fake identities. I recalled reading a news about a teacher who rape her female student and then many years later being caught and when she’s caught, she has her new life with husband and 2 kids and became soccer mom who volunteers at her kids school. It’s interesting how people can start over and I would guess there are a lot of people in this situation, except, some got away with it and some got caught. It’s definitely a story that catch people’s attention. Another good book to read are Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

Pros: fast paced, page turner, a lesson learned on life skills if you are ever on your own

Cons: need more details about where she got money to spend and does she only drink alcohol because there’s very little mention of eating food, even when she buys stuffs at the drugstore, she didn’t even buy chips or hotdogs. Too many whiskeys and not enough food for me to believe people can live like that.

I rate it 4.5 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: The Passenger

P.S. I really like The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl, and this book, The Passenger. Please let me know of any other books similar to these. I am really into suspense and mystery-thriller at the moment.

xoxo,
Jasmine

***Disclaimer: I received this ebook for free from NetGalley in an exchange for an honest review. My opinions are my own.

4 thoughts on “The Passenger

Leave a Reply

