The Dress Shop of Dreams Review

About: The Dress Shop of Dreams is a novel written by Menna Van Praag. The story locates in Oxford and Cambridge and that is where the author lives. The author also written other books: Men, Money & Chocolate, Happier than She’s Ever Been, The Witches of Cambridge, etc. Menna Van Praag also has a new book coming out and it’s called The Cambridge University Witches. I have yet to read any of these books but I am interested to because Menna Van Praag’s The Dress Shop of Dreams is very well written. This book was published on 12/30/14 by Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine. The genre of this book is Women’s Fiction.

My Experience: I started reading The Dress Shop of Dreams on 11/22/15 and finished it on 12/13/15. This book is interesting and it shouldn’t take me this long to read. I have a perfectly good reason for this time lag. I started a new job and time is scarce. Anyway, I like this book. It has everyone’s point of views. I cried near the end. Menna Van Praag brought emotions out of me, which is not too hard but I like her characters in this book. I like good characters. Cora and her parents are scientists, all are Dr. Carraway. They want to reduce world hunger. Her parents has a breakthrough, it was stolen, and there was a fire. The boy, Walt, from the bookstore down the street silently loved Cora from the moment he laid eyes on her when they were kids but have never profess his love to her. Cora’s grandma owns the dress shop that has some magic to give people courage, but only those who really needs it and she has secrets of her own. The twists and turns are interesting, although, it doesn’t occurs throughout the book. I enjoy reading it nonetheless.

Pros: happy ending, has everyone’s point of views, characters with abilities to tell a lie or a voice to change people’s lives

Cons: the bad cop was not brought to justice, he didn’t have remorse and he didn’t go to jail

I rate it 5 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: Book Depository

xoxo,

Jasmine

One thought on “The Dress Shop of Dreams Review

Leave a Reply

