Under This Beautiful Dorm Review

IMG_7243.JPG

About: Under This Beautiful Dorm is a biography/memoir of a Senator, a Journalist, and the politics of Gay Love in America. This book is written by Terry Mutchler, a Journalist and a lawyer. This book is about her and more. It was published on 9/23/14 by Seal Press.

My Experience: This is definitely a love story. I enjoyed reading it and stayed up late into the night reading it. I started reading this book on 1/23/15 and finished it on 1/31/15 at 3AM. Terry’s writing is beautiful. Reading this book, I felt all the emotions that Terry went through. I feel sorry that she has to go through this but I believe that life is unfair and when you are in the public eye, secrecy is needed in order to stay out of the media. I feel the author is very honest in writing this book, a true story written from the heart. I cried and smiled as I read about their love. I like that the book includes their love letters to each other. I like that the author provides enough backgrounds into her life from childhood to adult so that readers can understand what she goes through and how her life has shaped. I feel very sad every time I read about children being abused. I am very glad that Terry’s life turned out great. She’s so successful despite the hardship she went through and I admire that greatly.

My side effects from reading this book is a major headache incurred from staying up late, cried, and lacked of sleep. The worst thing is, I have to go to work the next day. The hardest 9 hours at work and the strongest craving to sleep ever. However, it’s all worth it because it’s the best autobiography to start the year. From this positive experience, I am actively seeking another great autobiography to read.

Pros: true-story, first person point of view, love, happiness, humor, sad, page turner, can’t put down

Cons: none

I rate it 5 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: Book Depository

***Disclaimer: I received this ebook for free from NetGalley in an exchange for an honest review.

Which biography/memoir is your favorite?

xoxo,
Jasmine

2 thoughts on “Under This Beautiful Dorm Review

Leave a Reply

