Isla’s Oath

IMG_7153.JPG

About: Isla’s Oath is a fiction novel written by Cassandra Page. This book is the second book in the series and it will be published on 1/20/15 by Turquoise Morning Press. The first book is called Isla’s Inheritance, which I have the honor of reviewing previously. The genre is Sci Fi & Fantasy, Teens and Young Adult.

My Experience: I started reading this book on 1/7/15 and finished it on 1/12/15. Both books takes place in Canberra, Australia. Living in USA, I enjoy reading books based in other countries. The author has a good description of each characters’ surroundings. In every teens and young adult books/movies, I expect romance even though the genre has no mention of romance. Isla does have a boyfriend, but there is no chemistry. I imagine watching a movie with the characters being stiff around each other when I read this book. Isla also seems to like her hob Jack but there’s no development in it. She thinks she likes him but her thoughts for him is so rare that makes this teen book not a good teen book. When I think of teens, I think of Gossip Girls, The 100, Twilight, etc because there’s always that love that got caught in the middle of all troubles that’s happening. I realized I don’t enjoy reading about all troubles and no fun and little to no love or flirt or lust between the characters. In this book, there’s no mention of Grandma and her role in the family history and no whereabouts of Isla’s mother. I am guessing the open ended introduction of characters is a chance for another sequel.

Pros: fast-paced, good descriptions of surroundings,

Cons: lack of romance, not much humor, lacking character relationships

I rate it 3 stars!

Grab yourself a copy here: Isla’s Oath (Isla’s Inheritance Book 2)

I can’t finish an entire book if the ratings is less than 3 stars, can you? I can tell about 20% into the book if I will like it or not.

***Disclaimer: I received this ebook for free from NetGalley in an exchange for an honest review.

xoxo,
Jasmine

One thought on “Isla’s Oath

Leave a Reply

