An Illicit Engagement

IMG_7047.JPG

About: An Illicit Engagement is the second fiction book in The Gentlemen Next Door Series authored by Cecilia Gray. This book was published in 12/1/2011 by Gray Life, LLC. The genre is romance.

My Experience: I started reading this book on 12/19/14 and finished it on 12/26/14. I realized after finishing the second book, that I finally noticed how short each book is. Having a series of 4 books, the first and the second, each has only about 5 chapters. Obviously, short stories shouldn’t take me this long to read, but indeed it has. This second book doesn’t excite me as much as the first one did. I do like books with strong witty women who are independent and intelligent. Chasity, in this case, has wit and brains. Not much romance for a romance book. This book could be more interesting if it offers more backgrounds to each of the characters, such as why is Chasity’s sister afraid to socialize? why Chasity has experience in poverty? and what did Lucas do before? Unless, in my recent experiences with books that are in a series is to expect details to come later.

Pros: strong characters, witty, some humor, fast-paced,

Cons: lack of romance,

I rate it 3.5 stars.

Grab yourself a copy here: An Illicit Engagement (The Gentlemen Next Door Book 2)

***Disclaimer: I received this ebook for free from NetGalley in an exchange for an honest review.

xoxo,
Jasmine

Leave a Reply

