Isla’ Inheritance Review

IMG_6945.JPG

About: Isla’s Inheritance is a fiction novel written by Cassandra Page. The genre of this book is Teens & Young Adult. This novel was published on 10/9/14 by Xpresso Book Tours is the first out of two in a series that I know of. The second book is called Isla’s Oath, which I have yet to read. The author lives in Canberra, Australia and is mentioned in this novel.

My Experiences: I started reading this book on 11/29/14 and finished it on 12/6/14. Ninty percent of this book is bland. The story and the action are so so. It’s a story for anyone with a weak heart. This is the first character I have met that is so easily and willing to take a stranger’s word without research of her own. She’s a high school student, yet she must have never heard of the library or internet’s abundance resources of mythologies. Being a fiction novel, she could easily googled herself abundance of info to back up to what the guy is telling her. Maybe it’s just me to jump straight onto google when I hear something I don’t recognize. But, in this book, he is the only source plus her own ignorance assumptions. I guess the reason for the second book is to describe further about Jack because this first book offer no background whatsoever. This novel is an okay read for me because there aren’t much backgrounds to the characters. What’s the story on grandma? Probably will know that on the second book too. I wonder if books that are in a series, is it worth it to read the first book? It seems the first book of over 300 pages is just an introduction of the weather, the scenes, the name of the characters, where they live, small actions to ready for big actions to come, etc.. I wouldn’t come to this conclusion if you are thinking of the Harry Potter series because every book has actions. This series, however, best to skip this book.

Pros: fast-paced, light-hearted, goody-two-shoes characters

Cons: not enough info on each characters, more action at the end of the book than the first 75% of the book

I rate it 3 stars!

Do you think the first book in a series is worth reading?

Grab yourself a copy here: Book Depository

***Disclaimer: I received this ebook for free from NetGalley in an exchange for an honest review.

xoxo,
Jasmine

One thought on “Isla’ Inheritance Review

Leave a Reply

