Driving Lessons Review

IMG_6907.JPG

About: Driving Lessons is a fiction novel written by Annameekee Hesik. The genre is Gay & Lesbian, Teens & Young Adults. It will be published by Bold Strokes Books, Inc on 12/16/14. The author’s biography is very closely related to this novel. I guess it should be. In order to write a novel, one should take something out of their personal experience to write. That’s why this novel sounds so real, like a personal story.

My Experiences: I started reading this book on 11/23/14 and finished on 11/27/14. It’s an interesting book, a fast read. I like to know that a lot of girls, especially main characters, are self conscious and get lost in their own thoughts a lot because I do that too. Reading books often answers a lot of questions even though they are fiction books, mostly the actions are parallel to reality. This book is very high school which brings me back to memory lane. I don’t remember lying so much to my mom but distractions on love & friends & sports definitely took priority. Although this book centers around gay & lesbians, it’s still an interesting read to anyone. What I don’t like are two parts of the book that are underdeveloped: Mia & Keeta. There were not enough confessions as to why Keeta break Abs’ heart. Another is, I swear Mia wants Abs to be more than friends but no explanation why Abs reject Mia’s hints.

Pros: fast paced, high school, good friends, good mom, drink & drive, humor, sports, positive attitude

Cons: Keeta & Mia

I rate it 5 stars!

Grab a copy for yourself here: Driving Lessons: A You Know Who Girls Novel

***Disclaimer: I received this ebook for free from NetGalley in an exchange for an honest review.

xoxo,
Jasmine

Leave a Reply

