Raspberries

About: Raspberries are well rounded fruits. The flowers of the raspberries trees are a major nectar source for honeybees and other pollinators. The leaves can be used fresh or dried in herbal and medicinal teas. Fruits can be eaten fresh, frozen, or made into jam. These raspberries are a very healthy fruit to consume. It contains significant antioxidants that help protect against human diseases. It has highest fiber content known, rich source of Vitamin C, manganese, folic acid, magnesium, copper, and iron. There are different color raspberries: red, gold/yellow, purple, and black. Top countries that harvest raspberries: Russia, Serbia, USA, Poland, etc.

20140917-152807-55687607.jpg

My Experience: I have never liked to eat raspberries. They are so sour and have a lot of seeds. I am aware that people like to put raspberries as toppings on ice cream and fruit tarts. The only way I can eat it is to dip with salt and red pepper. Rarely do I buy this fruit. Raspberries have such a special one-of-a-kind appearance. They look so delicious in that red color, yet surprisingly sour as you chew on it. However, because it is good for health, I do eat it once in awhile. This weekend, however, I was lucky to obtain some that are sweet and I eat a lot of it. I put it in my salads or eat it by itself. See above pic for the salad I made this weekend.

Pros: good for health, variety of ways to consume this fruit, available all year round

Cons: expensive fruit, sour, too much seeds

I rate it 5 stars!

Which berries is your favorite to eat?

xoxo,
Jasmine

7 thoughts on “Raspberries

  1. buddy71 says:

    i love raspberries. yes they can be a bit sour/tart but that is because they are picked way too early so they can be sold. most fruit is picked too soon and ripen on the way to and at the store and that is why most do not have much flavor.
    i prefer to get my fruit at the local farmers market or the local “health” food store. but mixing raspberries in vanilla ice cream is the best. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

