Althea & Oliver

image

About: Althea & Oliver is a fiction novel written by Cristina Moracho. This is the author’s very first book. It will be published by Viking Juvenile on October 9, 2014. The genre is Teens & Young Adult. The main characters have been best friends since 6 years old.

My Experience: I started reading this book on 9/2/14 and finished it on 9/6/14 at 1:30am. Yes, I do like to stay up late to read. This book, however, I only stay up late to read is because I want to finish it, not because I like it. It is just not my cup of tea. I don’t like Althea as a character in this book. I realized her life is not perfect, but her life is not worst either. I don’t like the choices she makes when she’s fully aware that her choices are bad. I do have friends for 10 years and longer, but this story seems to make each situation worser so, as a reader, it’s not interesting for me to read closely and absorb every scenes carefully. It’s not because I can’t relate that I don’t like this book. I don’t like it because she only do what she likes, not adhere to any rules. There are silent rules: teens girls don’t just go to a guy’s home late at night to drink, don’t drive long distance alone and lied for a month, don’t run their own life like they live by themselves, etc….. Or is it just me? I don’t do that.

Pro: everybody is different and make different choices, good or bad in their own way.

Con: if you are sad, unhappy, depress, etc, don’t read this book

I rate it 3 stars!

Get yourself a copy anyway. You may like it. After all, everyone of us have different interests: Althea and Oliver

Do you like to read books with characters that let themselves go?

Disclaimer: I received this e-book for free from NetGalley in an exchange for an honest review.

xoxo,
Jasmine

Leave a Reply

