The Night Garden Review

20140901-214722-78442187.jpg

About: The Night Garden is a fiction novel written by Lisa Van Allen. It will be published by Ballantine Books in October 7, 2014. Lisa Van Allen is also an author for The Wishing Thread, which I have yet to read.

My Experiences: I started reading The Night Garden on 8/20/14 and finished it on 9/1/14. Took me a long time to finish reading this book because the first many chapters were slow and boring. The building of the characters could use some energy or humor to it. Middle to ending of the book grows interesting. The story started to build clearer and the love between the main characters got me hooked on wanting to know more about what will eventually happen to them. Although there were a lot of descriptions to the flower gardens and thinking process of every characters involved in this story, I could not imagine a picture. I love visiting botanical gardens and have visited many locations, but I just don’t love reading this novel as much as I had hoped.

Pros: lots of descriptions of flower gardens, lots of thinking by the characters, interesting concepts

Cons: few conversations, slow paced in beginning

I rate it 3.5 stars!

Grab a copy to read for yourself here: Book Depository

Do you imagine a picture while you read? Like a movie in your mind?

Disclaimer: I received this e-book for free from NetGalley in an exchange for an honest review.

xoxo
Jasmine

Leave a Reply

